British Desserts

British Desserts

This post is a continuation of my previous post on the multitude of differences between the US and the UK. Today we will be exploring the WWD (wonderful world of desserts). To get the best exposure possible, I recommend eating these treats while reading. Or don’t. I mean I went through all this so that you wouldn’t have to.

Tunnock’s Tea Cakes

My first bite I thought “What the hell?” It says it’s a cake – but don’t let those conniving Brits fool you. There is absolutely no cake involved. Instead, I’m greeted by a hard chocolate shell disguising a marshmallow interior. Not gross at all, but I was seriously expecting a bite of cake. At the bottom of this mound of marshmallow is a biscuit a.k.a. a flavorless cookie.

IMG_1865.jpg

 

Normally this would have been a solid 8/10, but because it lied about the cake part, it gets a 5/10. 

McVitie’s Jaffa Cakes

Unlike other desserts, this treat actually has cake in it! This cake like sponge base with dark chocolate laid over top. And then an orange center is hidden by the chocolate. Leading me to ask “Oh, God, England, WHY?” Why must you continuously add orange into beautiful chocolate? This would have been perfectly fine without the tang of orange soaked into my chocolate from the first bite or so. But don’t worry, you’ll get used to the slimy orange bit hitting the back of your throat like an unwanted tongue.

Final verdict: 4/10 

Curlywurly

Resembling the steps taken by a drunk person up a flight of stairs, the Curlywurly zigzags back and forth within the wrapper. But don’t let it’s alcohol induced shape fool you! This is actually pretty good! Of course, it’s hard not to be delicious when 50% of it is caramel and the other 50% is chocolate.

 9/10 purely because of the caramel. Name could be improved upon

McVitie’s Digestives

The name of this treat seems like it should best be served to those with incontinence or other digestive issues. But they’re actually pretty good. It’s basically a colon-friendly biscuit covered in delectable chocolate made for both the intestinally challenged and other people!

 Decision: 10/10. I survived purely because of these treats.

Custard Creams

It’s basically two cookies sandwiching some cream in the center. Pretty decent, but I won’t go out of my way to purchase them.

 Kind of like an Oreo. But not appealing. 6/10

Lastly, Sherbet fountain

I just… I don’t understand… It’s similar to Fun Dip, but without the tastiness. No, seriously. It’s black licorice dipped in flavorless white powder. All it tastes like is black licorice regret and the powder of dismay.

IMG_1863.jpg

 1/10. I would say 0/10, but they tried?

So there you have it: some good candies, some bad candies. But mainly strange ones. Very strange candies.

 

Was this thought-provoking? Did I misspell something? Just want to reply? Go ahead and comment